10 Questions With...

January 30, 2013

What brought you to KS&R?

When I was getting my MBA at Clarkson University, I was in a consulting group that essentially did Market Research. Upon graduation I heard about KS&R and thought that it would be a good fit. While I had been planning on moving to Boston or Chicago, this afforded me the opportunity to work with large corporate clients while remaining closer to our families. 15 years later it still seems to be a good fit and I like that you get to learn something new each and every day.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

I rode my bicycle 134 miles in one day this fall from my home in Liverpool to my in-laws in Canton and actually enjoyed it (that is the surprise part). To be honest, once I got to DeKalb Junction (about 12 miles from destination) I did get a little sad inside, but other than that it was a beautiful fall day with great colors.

What is the most used app on your mobile phone?

The app I use the most is Music Player, especially since I got a new car that has Blue Tooth. I enjoy listening to music in the background for almost all of my non-work related activities.

What is the longest you have queued in line, and what was it for?

I once spent most of a day and a half in line trying to get a flight home for Christmas from Chicago. Once I realized that getting stuck in NYC would be better than Chicago (I could drive or be picked up) I managed to get to LaGuardia only to get stuck once again. I ended up on a flight to Ithaca (close to Syracuse) with four new friends, one of whom got me a ride right to my door step (Matt the large animal vet from Virginia) on the evening of December 23rd.

If you could have a lifetime supply of anything under $5, what would it be?

Diet Pepsi. I don't drink coffee so I have to get my caffeine however I can. I managed a diner for 3 years and that turned me on coffee. Love the smell though.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I wish I was more athletic and could play basketball in a meaningful way. I have two boys who now tower over me (even the 14 year old) who play all the time and I would love to be able to challenge them.

What is the angriest you have been at an inanimate object, and why?

I once had this motorcycle that would stop running every time it got too hot, which was basically every time you went more than 50 mph. I was riding from Rochester to Potsdam (200 miles) so that was one seriously long day. I lost my voice. That was the last time I rode that bike.

What's your go-to fast food meal?

A slice of pizza, especially after having been overseas for any number of days (particularly Asia). I love to try the different food wherever I am, but you eventually start going through withdrawal and just need some American comfort food.

Aisle or window?

Definitely window, even for a flight to Asia. I fly a fair amount (both domestically and internationally) for research and I really like to see the places that I am going. I have yet to see my own home when approaching Syracuse but have come very close on a couple of occasions.

What is on your to do list?

I would really like to drive my car on a race track at speed. I have been to Watkins Glenn a number of times in my Mazda Miata, but that has always been with a pace car - you can still go pretty fast but not flat out. There are a couple of driving schools that you can attend nearby but I need to convince my wife that the sizable investment is worth it (she'd probably want to go as well, compounding the expense).